Collage 2017

invitationsThe invitation came to the inbox of my Lost Valley inter-campus mail.

It said simply: “Collage party, Saturday, January 14th, 4PM Large Classroom. I have lots of magazines, bring your own materials, scissors, glue sticks and let’s create together our intentions for the New Year. Mariah.”

Hmm, I said to myself. It’s been a few years since I did a collage — used to do those regularly to vision goals and intentions. I think I’ll go.

On the way to the party, I scooped up the Christmas Cards that my family and friends had sent in December. What better way to preserve the love and support of my loved ones than to include them in a collage?!

When I entered the Large Classroom at 4PM on Saturday, the carpet was already overlaid with magazines, calendars and other forms of imagery. Glue sticks, scissors, poster boards and SNACKS! were all arranged, ready for creative flights. Mariah knows how to set a space!

I had been in a quiet, reflective mood all day, so I was in the zone to transform intentions into art. Mariah led us in a short process to help us organize our intentions for 2017 into three categories: feelings, things and experiences.

I looked through my short stack of Christmas Cards. I began cutting out a dove in flight. Love and Peace were definitely among the feelings I want to generate in 2017.

Next, I chose a really glittery Thomas Kincaid village scene that symbolized community (village) living. Definitely Community experiences of collaboration and togetherness is a big part of what I want my year to comprise.

A beautiful, warm, stable Home came next — and who better to supply that image than my dear sister, Lois! Tomas and I had been such a part of helping Her to make over her home in 2016, it seemed only natural that She should be the source of that image for me in 2017.

The fourth and final Christmas Card image came from a long time friend who had made her seasonal greeting from a photo that she had taken while on vacation in Canada last summer. A lake, mountains and evergreen trees represented the beauty of Nature that I so value and cherish.

Then, turning briefly to magazines, I found the words, phrases and finishing pictures for my Collage Intentions of 2017. I had decided to keep this small and intense, as my living space is small and I knew that wall space would be at a premium for hanging it anywhere.

Lots more flowers, emphasizing Nature’s Beauty and Colors, a Buddha Statue to remind me to be still and make room for reflection regularly and a whimsical Whale duct tape border to bind it all together. Glue it down, it was done!

Back at the dorm, I looked up the meaning of Whales on a Spirit Animal website. I wasn’t too surprised to see that my “whimsical” choice of border material was much deeper than I had thought at the time.

The whale spirit animal is the earth’s record keeper for all time. As a totem, the whale teaches you about listening to your inner voice, understanding the impact your emotions have on your everyday life, and following your own truth. When the whale enters your life, it may be time to closely examine where you are, the actions and emotions that have brought you to this point, and what you can do to alleviate existing drama and unrest and find peace. Those who have the whale as their animal totem are in touch with true reality. They are nurturers and go-getters who understand there is more to this life than meets the eye.

 

Whale Spirit Animal

May 2017 be a year of Peace, Joy, Love, Compassion, Fulfillment.

May 2017 see an expansion for me of a Heart-Centered Life.

Here’s my Collage of Intentions for 2017!

collage-january-2017

4 thoughts on “Collage 2017

    • Yes, I jokingly say that this is where the “old hippies” (of which I am one) go to retire. But there are many othesr of various ages here also, so it isn’t ONLY old hippies. Happy to hear you are fascinated; I will be blogging about some of the aspects that fascinate me as I become more fluent with the processes. Hugs to you, Alia

Leave a Reply

