The Journey into My Heart – Valor – II

Six Virtues of the Heart

Six Virtues of the Heart

This is a continuation of my inner process using the material of the Wingmakers/Lyricus Teaching Order. Source documents and links to prior parts of this series can be found at the bottom of this post.

May 18, 2015
“Self-absorption in one’s own world is a key threat that undermines the expression of valor, and fear of consequence is the other.”

As there are two key phrases in this statement, I’ll take them individually. This was a major “pop-off-the-page-at-me” statement. Confrontation has never been my forte; often I’ve found myself acquiescing rather than standing up for myself. Participating in demonstrations where “power” might show up? Never! Not in this lifetime at least. “Timid” would be a great description of my stance. And for both reasons given in the statement above: self-absorption and fear of consequences.

Self-absorption has been a continual theme in my life. It wasn’t that I did not know or care about the injustices being perpetrated upon others (although many times this was the case.) It was more like I was living my own life on such a financial edge, that it required 98% of my attention at all times to keep myself going. Prayer for others’ situations was about all I could manage and I can’t discount the level of assistance that may have provided, although it is not measurable.

However, “fear of consequences” is another matter – usually fear of financial consequences. Again, living so close to the financial line, I avoided certain confrontations for fear of being sued, or otherwise financially penalized. So this statement really grabbed my attention and helped me look at how my past behaviors and beliefs have threatened and undermined my own opportunities to express the Heart Virtue of Valor.

I also realized, as I considered the first part of this threat (self-absorption) that I had not sufficiently developed my moral core – had not even been focusing on strengthening my moral spine, although I thought I had. These realizations have been exceedingly valuable to me and I continue to ponder them and notice a very subtle shift within me of being less fearful of “speaking truth to power.”

On a global scale, self-absorption threatens our ability to courageously come together and cooperate toward building a better world. This fact is an outcome of the abuse of power. Fortunately, we are beginning to see a shift in the global attitude as well. The leadership of the Kingdom of Hawai’I and recently, positive signs from a much larger nation, Russia, are indicators that we may have shifted onto a new pathway toward partnerships that span national borders.

One last comment about this single, highly impactful statement: We hear a lot these days about “threats to national security.” This above statement regarding Valor triggered a thought in me about threats to my own security – self-absorption and fear of consequences. The PTW designed systems within systems to keep us self-absorbed and in fear of consequences, knowing that if we began to discover our true moral spine based on our connection to First Source/Love, we The People would come together in an expression of VALOR that would terminate their reign of terror. The tide is turning; we are finding Love within. And more quickly than “they” ever thought would happen, the day is coming when Compassion and Understanding will replace self-absorption, Humility and Valor will annihilate “fear of consequences” and Humanity will free ourselves from the lessons of third chakra power and move on and into the lessons of Love. So be it, amen.

Individuals who fear consequence in pointing out an injustice misunderstand the co-creative force of First Source. When you operate as a co-creator, you are ever vigilant to the incremental or sudden onset of injustice, and when it occurs in your life path, it must be identified for what it is and dealt with. Valor is the aspect of your love that defends its presence in the face of injustice as measured in the social order. If you don’t defend your virtues—or those too weak to defend their own—you have separated from them and have lost an opportunity to be a co-creative force in the world of form.

There is so much in this paragraph for me to take to heart. As one who has “feared consequence” throughout this lifetime, I have missed innumerable opportunities to co-create with First Source in situations where I have clearly identified injustice (toward myself or a fellow) and chosen not to act. I see clearly now that the other Heart Virtues were not sufficiently developed within me to understand that First Source not only “had my back” but would become a full partner with me when I faced injustice with a strong moral spine.

Perhaps Valor is the Heart Virtue that is now challenging me the most and also giving me the greatest opportunity for inner growth. It is the aspect of Divine Love that I can track the greatest amount of change. Fear of consequence is still there but I now have an understanding of how co-creation with my Creator works to provide what is needed for an injustice to be addressed in the world of form. I need only step out in trust and the means for success will be there. The last statement about the separation that occurs between me and another when I do not defend my virtues (or those of others too weak to defend their own) reiterates the many opportunities that I have “lost” because of my ignorance of how this dynamic works.

This doesn’t necessarily mean that you must become an activist or advocate for a list of social causes. It simply requires that you defend yourself from injustice. Children in particular require this protection.

I’m not sure that in my case this understanding makes things any easier but it does place some parameters around a (for me) otherwise totally overwhelming subject.

When I was only about seven years old I vividly remember going to a store with my father and while we were walking in from the parking lot we noticed a mother quite literally beating her child in the backseat of her car. It was a busy Saturday and there were many people in the parking lot, but it was my father who approached the woman and asked her to stop. His voice was firm from his conviction and the woman immediately stopped.

This was an act of valor because there was no real judgment associated with it; it was simply an injustice that required intervention in the moment. Compassion for both the child and the mother were present in my father, and I believe the mother knew this. This is an example of how the virtues of the heart seldom appear in isolation, but rather as an ensemble that braid themselves for strength and potency for a given situation.

I’ve been searching my mind for a personal example of a time that I dealt with injustice and I cannot find one. I am greatly inspired by such stories as James has related here and in many other instances that I have read about or heard about. However, the twin threats of self-absorption and fear of consequence have crippled my ability to stand strong in the face of injustice myself.

I do relate very strongly to my newfound experiences of the braided quality of the Six Heart Virtues within me since I began to cultivate them with awareness about six weeks ago. I find myself noticing often that I am expressing two or three virtues together in my response to my life circumstances. Understanding, Compassion and Forgiveness frequently appear in concert with one another. Appreciation follows from Understanding (standing on broad shoulders, so to speak.) Humility and Forgiveness often pair together and somehow (now that I am consciously cultivating it) Valor may draw strength from standing next to Humility. Now, that’s a novel thought.

What a journey this teaching has initiated!

 

Read Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 of this Journey into My Heart — Intro and Understanding.

Conclusion and Summary on Understanding HERE.

Read about Appreciation HERE.

Read about Humility HERE.

Read Compassion 1 HERE. Compassion 2 HERE

Read about Forgiveness HERE.

Read about Valor 1 HERE.

Link to Winkmaker’s website HERE.

Link to downloadable material HERE.

3 thoughts on “The Journey into My Heart – Valor – II

  1. Hi Aaron — yes I guess that statement does sound paradoxical. Perhaps the choice of the word “sued” was a bit extreme. Looking back at that time in my life with “the eyes of reality,” there was little chance that I would have actually been sued for anything but a mind in “fear of scarcity” is not a mind that sees things clearly and imagines worst case scenarios on a daily basis. I was always monitoring any situation for financial impact to my life and I see now that I stepped back from situations where I might have stood “stronger for myself” for fear of incurring further financial encumbrances. It was a crazy time and I could not see the loop I was in — although plenty of my friends could. Now I can see it in other people’s lives and understand their situation with compassion. Thank you for bringing that to my attention — mini life review over here. Blessings, Alia

  2. “Speaking truth to power” – equates for me to facing my fears. I never know what possible ‘action’ on the physical/emotional level may result from this. I do know that I gain one more sliver of ‘self-knowing’ in the process. This means that something that was running me on an unconscious level is now seen by me and made conscious. When that happens, clarity is restored and then all action that is called for in the sense of ‘valor’ not only shows up, but the energy and determination to carry out such action is there too. If fear is the subliminal toxin that weakens us and keeps us from standing in our power, then valor, facing our fears and not allowing them to paralyze us is the antidote. Your writing on these deep topics is fertile ground for self-healing, thank you!
    My Love! t.

Leave a Reply

