The Journey into My Heart – Valor – I

Six Virtues of the Heart

Six Virtues of the Heart

This is a continuation of my inner process using the material of the Wingmakers/Lyricus Teaching Order. Source documents and links to prior parts of this series can be found at the bottom of this post.

May 17, 2015
So this brings us to the Sixth Heart Virtue – Valor. Until I began working with these qualities of the heart, I had given little consideration to this word; it was not part of my vocabulary, period. Why say “valor” when “courage” is available and more commonly used? I had only encountered the word valor as it related to war and battle scenarios – “The Better Part of Valor” and all that. I was quite surprised to read James’ thoughts about this virtue and I see now that, like “courage,” the term “valor” can be applied in many situations that occur in daily life. Here are James’ words.

While valor is generally used in the context of war or the battlefield, it is, as an element of love, linked with the act of speaking truth to power, especially when an injustice is committed. It is common in today’s social order to pretend ignorance of the injustices of our world.

As usual, the Lyricus teachings expand my Understanding of commonly used English words. Valor is an element of Love that is linked with the act of speaking truth to power.

That is a profound statement. When I first read this phrase “speaking truth to power,” I immediately thought of the Native Hawai’ians protesting the construction of the 30-meter telescope of the sacred mountain, Mauna Kea. The element of this protest that made it different from other protests was the element of Love, linked with speaking truth to power.

I borrow another phrase from author, Lucia Rene, who distinguishes “power” from “abuse of power.” In her book, Unplugging the Patriarchy, she writes that true power does come from a combination of Love and Will – third chakra balanced with heart chakra energies. She further describes how this last era has been an exploration by Humanity of both power and the abuse of power. The shift that Humanity is currently experiencing is our completion with third chakra issues in order to move into the exploration of fourth chakra issues. This made perfect sense to me when I read it. It still does.
We have confused true power with the abuse of power, as the latter expression is mostly what we’ve been dealing with at the end of this cycle. We’ve arrived at a place where we’ve become so used to being dominated and victimized that we have equated abuse of power with true power.

Power is based in Love; abuse of power is based in fear and remedied with force. Force is not power, it is a reaction to fear of being abused. Hence, the common belief that one must strike down the enemy before he strikes you. The last sentence of this first paragraph is also revealing of our depreciated state. “It is common in today’s social order to pretend ignorance of the injustices of our world.”

Injustice has become so widespread as to appear normal. Everyone is feeling the injustices born from millennia of abuse of power, so one of the most common reactions to this is to go into denial and pretend ignorance of the topic. How are the “injustices of my world” any more important than the ones I’m dealing with in my life? Where is the Love for one’s fellows? Perhaps more importantly, where is the love for myself? It was long ago squeezed out by the ruthlessness of the abuse of power. Have we learned the lesson now? Are we ready to move on? The movement atop Mauna Kea is encouraging. The People are remembering that true power is based in Love.

July 4, 2015

Independence Day in the United States, my country of origin for this lifetime. My second Independence Day in a row observed from halfway around the world in Morocco. The principles of Valor are gloriously celebrated by Americans on this anniversary of our nation’s birth. As I re-read my writings of a few weeks ago, I realized that I had described the work of the Hawai’ian people on Mauna Kea incorrectly. I can see now how my old paradigm perspective “bled through” in my writing. I will quote the paragraph in question and re-interpret it now in light of my newer way of holding that situation.

“. . .When I first read this phrase “speaking truth to power,” I immediately thought of the Native Hawai’ians protesting the construction of the 30-meter telescope of the sacred mountain, Mauna Kea. The element of this protest that made it different from other protests was the element of Love, linked with speaking truth to power.”

When I read this paragraph this morning I realized that the reason the People on Mauna Kea are succeeding is that they are NOT primarily “protesting” the construction of the TMT. They ARE,  first and foremost, standing for the PROTECTION of their sacred mountain, whose “voice” they represent. The “protest” of the construction is a secondary outcome of their STAND FOR THE LAND in “Aloha Aina” – love of the land.

This insight made me ponder whether this is actually part of the definition of Valor – “standing FOR something or someone in Love and Compassion,” rather than “countering or opposing injustice.” I think this stance makes an incredible difference. Clearly, our forefathers were opposing what they were experiencing as British tyranny. HOWEVER, I believe that first and foremost, they were standing FOR their vision of a country, conceived in freedom, liberty and justice for all. AND they were fighting for their perceived “Motherland” on their “home turf.”

Standing FOR something as compared with fighting AGAINST something makes a huge difference in one’s ability to carry out an action from a place of LOVE. Love sustains any endeavor of the Heart and provides the energy needed to endure over time.

As we come to the close of this “era of the lessons of power and abuse of power” let us remember that we are standing FOR our freedom and our evolution as a species, rather than fighting AGAINST our perceived oppressors. For me, this position, based in love, is indeed the “better part of valor.” It will see us through this chaotic passage – the final exam, perhaps – of our time in 3D duality/polarity and allow us to “graduate with honors” into the lessons of Love.

Read Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 of this Journey into My Heart — Intro and Understanding.

Conclusion and Summary on Understanding HERE.

Read about Appreciation HERE.

Read about Humility HERE.

Read Compassion 1 HERE. Compassion 2 HERE

Read about Forgiveness HERE.

Link to Winkmaker’s website HERE.

Link to downloadable material HERE.

4 thoughts on “The Journey into My Heart – Valor – I

  1. OK first of all it’s not Chuck but for some reason Google+ thinks it is. It’s really Lynda, partner of.
    Secondly, dearest Alia, I am dipping in and out of your journey in between the busyness of my To Do list entries, last week in D.C. for climate lobbying, this week catching up on all the things I’d left behind and a few surprises too. Today, on the 4th of July I am celebrating by reading your whole journey. Ah, that’s a feeling like freedom to do just exactly what I want to be doing! Thank you for sharing this thoughtful and heartful process. You are doing fine work here in the remains of 3D.
    Sending you so much love,
    L.

    • Dear Lynda — and please give a big hug and smile to Mr. Chuck for me. Wow! I’m honored that you would choose to read my journal of all the many wonderful options that I’m sure exist on your “free time” list! I am coming to the end of this particular chronicle of the Six Virtues of the Heart. I will be summing up the series with the next one or two posts. It is a fruitful exploration for me and I’m happy to hear that you are benefiting as well. Very much reminds me of our work with the 52 Codes — another entry point into a heart-centered life. I have to admit that 3D is becoming tedious. All the more reason to practice what I preach here on this site. Much Much love to you Dear One — for all your do and especially who you ARE, Alia

  2. This series is yielding depth of understanding that serves us well now, and in the coming weeks, months, will become absolutely essential! Thank you for continuing this exploration.
    All love,
    t.

    • You are welcome, Dear Tomas. There are so many paths that can lead one into the space of the Heart. I will be addressing this as I complete my series. Your have your own favorite entry points. The important thing now is for each of us to find something that works and USE it. Thanks for doing your part to complete this cycle in integrity. Much love, Alia

Leave a Reply

