The Journey into My Heart — Humility

Six Virtues of the Heart

Six Virtues of the Heart

May 10, 2015
The next of the Six Heart Virtues that appears for me in my personal ordering is Humility. I have always been a prideful, arrogant personality. Yes, it’s true. As “pride goeth before the fall” I have taken more than a few spills in this lifetime. I have been arrogant, often believing that my way is the only way and that I KNOW what is happening at the front lines of duality and beyond. In recent years this attitude has softened but it still pops up now and then. The difference is that I can recognize it more quickly and release my position more easily than I could even five or ten years ago.

I have felt “entitled” most of my life. I have always thought that I deserved far more of material things than I was able to provide for myself in this lifetime. At times I was jealous and miserable, seeing the wealth of others. I “made do” with much less and then prided myself that I was somehow better than those who had more. This has been a stony path and my feet have hurt a lot.

So Humility is a key Heart Virtue for me to work with and honestly, I have not focused on this one so much. Why are we not surprised?! Well, let’s get to it. Here is what James has to say about Humility.

The soul expresses the love frequency derived from First Source. It is its most important purpose, while embodied within the human instrument, to circulate this delicate, sublime frequency of love to the human instrument. It will come as no surprise that it finds the heart a more willing collaborator than the mind. Humility is the realization that the heart, mind and soul co-mingle in the grace of First Source. That their very existence is upheld through the dispensation of love from First Source just as surely as a tree is sustained by sunlight.

In the religious, psychological and philosophical materials of our planet there is great consideration given to the mind. As a man thinketh so is he. At a more granular level, many people believe that what they think causes their feelings, which in turn creates their vibratory rate and this vibratory rate attracts their life experience. So, applying this logic, the way to attract good things into our life is to think rightly, lest we attract evil or hardship.

Humility understands that the being that represents you—your fullest identity—is not constituted as a chain reaction of the mind. Rather, it is the presence of love embodied in human form, and this love expresses itself in the virtues of the heart, the pure intellect of the contemplative mind, and the co-creative pursuits of the heart, mind, and soul. Humility is the expression of this love frequency knowing it derives from what already exists in a higher dimension, and in this dimension love is not a thing of sentiment and emotional heaviness. It is a liberating force that acts according to the archetype of First Source: All is one. All is equal. All is divine. All is immortal.

These two statements leaped off the page at me:

Humility is the realization that the heart, mind and soul co-mingle in the grace of First Source. That their very existence is upheld through the dispensation of love from First Source just as surely as a tree is sustained by sunlight.

“in the Grace of First Source”

This phrase entered my heart when I read it as if they had been shot by an arrow. Simultaneously, these words felt like a healing balm that washed away all the remaining tentacles of pride and arrogance. I felt the Grace of First Source in these words. James tells us that these teachings are “encoded” with frequencies that “trigger” awareness and release of old programing. When I first read these words, I became a believer. Such a profound effect in only six words!

These words assured me that my very existence is upheld and sustained by and in the Grace of First Source. How different my life would have been had a loving parent taught me that at a tender age!

The second paragraph about the emphasis in our culture on the mind and mental intelligence describes to a T the route I took through most of this lifetime. “Perform well in school,” “Figure things out,” Always have a plan – and a backup plan,” “YOU can do it!” And my parents and teachers were not talking about that part of me that was standing in the Grace of First Source. No, they were appealing to the ego-mind that hungered for “success, power, wealth and fame.” I bit hard on that lure (hook) and took many “detours” and “shortcuts” and came to “dead ends” many times.

Humility understands that the being that represents you—your fullest identity—is not constituted as a chain reaction of the mind. Rather, it is the presence of love embodied in human form, and this love expresses itself in the virtues of the heart, the pure intellect of the contemplative mind, and the co-creative pursuits of the heart, mind, and soul.

Finally, I can take myself off the hook. How freeing is that?!

However, my life was not governed entirely by mental gymnastics. The other side of my personality had a very tender heart. Growing up on a farm, I had many animals as daily companions. Not just dogs and cats, either, but sheep, cows and chickens became my friends. I had access to acres of Nature, green fields, creeks and groves of trees. The devic realm accompanied me everywhere and I had an alter-ego who was a fairy queen and a rich life, both by day and at night in my dreams that revolved around my fairy and elf companions.

So there was a balance. Except that one side got constant and sole support of my physical guides and the other part was ridiculed and invalidated. Hence the strife within – do I trust my inner feelings and knowings or do I take my family’s word for what I should believe? I, like so many children, chose the latter.

Humility is the expression of this love frequency knowing it derives from what already exists in a higher dimension, and in this dimension love is not a thing of sentiment and emotional heaviness. It is a liberating force that acts according to the archetype of First Source: All is one. All is equal. All is divine. All is immortal.

And looking back, I understand now, that I came into this lifetime KNOWING many of the things taught in this final paragraph of James’ paper on the Six Heart Virtues. I KNEW but I chose to look to an authority OUSIDE of my SELF for guidance regarding how to navigate my world. In the back of my mind, or perhaps in the center of my heart, the wee voice kept affirming that “All is one. All is equal. All is divine. All is immortal.”

To speak of equality in a household of bigots was not a good idea. To express my opinion that the animals were our equals was met with raised eyebrows. To attempt to declare my divinity as a human being was rewarded with verbal  thrashings. I don’t think I even dared to think about my “immortality.” I’ve had a great fear of death and dying all my life.

Returning to the first statement in the first paragraph:
“Humility is the realization that the heart, mind and soul co-mingle in the grace of First Source.”

This statement has made all the difference. It has ended the war within me that has raged on between my ego-mind and my intelligent heart. As I stand in the Grace of First Source, recognizing that I am on “eternal Life Support” I can lay down my sword and my shield and stand in full humility AND in full partnership with my Creator.

May 11, 2015
“Humility is the realization that the heart, mind and soul co-mingle in the grace of First Source.”

In the night I remembered that the above statement also sparked in me the awareness that Divine Grace is an unconditional gift. It is given freely to all without any criteria for receiving it. There was nothing I did or had to become in order to receive the grace of First Source. There is nothing I need to do (or can do) that will entitle me to more of it or less of it. Not only does this grace exist, it sustains my very existence. Taking in the reality of this is, in itself, humbling. It is also immensely empowering and comforting.

June 21, 2015

The only thing I will add to these journal entries about Humility is that when I visualize this quality, I always see myself standing under a shower of the Grace of First Source. It’s a bit humorous and takes the edge off of that pride and arrogant stance I felt I needed to justify my existence.

So much softening in only a couple of months! Sometimes I hardly recognize myself these days.

Read Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 of this Journey into My Heart.

Conclusion and Summary on Understanding HERE.

Read about Appreciation HERE.

Link to Winkmaker’s website HERE.

Link to downloadable material HERE.

3 thoughts on “The Journey into My Heart — Humility

  1. I often look back at my attitude of “know it all” and see myself as others may have seen me. They saw my arrogance and proud attitude that was such a wall of defense to keep up my “self-esteem” – and then I feel humiliated, but after the bitterness of that emotion, it is freeing! Having seen that such a false sense of “self” was keeping me from an intimate connection with that “grace” of first source, of oneness or, as in the Law of One, the Creator’s original thought. I was fortunate along the way to have had several physical experiences of being powerless without this grace. One very graphic one was during a long yoga seminar (12 hours a day for 10 days) I suddenly could not move my arms to raise them up! I recognized that I needed to surrender to the Mystery in order to allow anything, even the smallest movement, to occur. After this cathartic episode, which only lasted perhaps a minute in our time, my arms moved, mysteriously, up. 🙂

    • Beautifully said, Tomas. It is our attitude (position) of pride/arrogance that keeps us from seeing the very mechanism that prevents our connection to Self/Love/Source. And once seen, the effects/impact of our pride is most bitter to swallow, which is why most of us (particularly me) took so long to “turn that stone over.” This part of my journal that reveals my “darker moments” was the very part that my ego self was reluctant to share. That’s when I knew that I had to post it. But as you said, everyone else was already seeing this side of me, so it was only my self-delusion that was keeping this veil in place. And once “outed” the pride was seen by me for what it truly is — a thin wisp of personal enchantment that keeps me from my True Self. On the other side of that revelation is my release and freedom. Thank you for having my back on this final leg of the Journey Home. ♥ Alia

Leave a Reply

