Sacred Language — The Power of Our Words

Sacred Language and DNA

Sacred Language and DNA

For about the last three weeks I have had a three-part conversation rambling around in my mind. At first, the three elements seemed to be unrelated but as I pondered each of them, I realized that they were pointing me in the same direction: spoken language carries within it a powerful energy that can bless or curse. In each moment that power is ours to use. How often do we consider before we speak whether what we are about to say will be an energy of destruction, or one of blessing?

The first message I found myself turning over in my mind is from the Bible, Proverbs 18:21: “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.”

This verse reminds us that every word that rolls off our tongue has the power to enliven us , as well as the people, things and situations around us, OR it can deplete that life force, even to the point of death. The second part of this verse affirms the Law of Attraction that we will draw to us the consequences of our speaking for good or ill.

The second idea I began to consider in light of this is the old “superstitions” that people in ancient cultures and native tribes used to believe (and therefore experienced) about blessings and curses. People in earlier ages truly believed that another person or shaman or enemy could speak so powerfully as to kill them. On the other hand, these same earlier people would seek the blessing of a religious teacher, holy person  (even a parent’s blessing would be sought) with the conviction that this benediction would grant them comfort, good fortune and peace.

The third part of this interesting dialogue that developed in my head was the scientific understanding that our DNA contains a structure similar to the letters of an alphabet. It doesn’t matter what language you speak, your DNA will respond to your words, both spoken and mentally thought.  Russian linguistic researchers have discovered that our DNA is formulated like a language with syntax, semantics and the rudiments of grammar. It is a communication link between us and the physical world and it responds to our words and thoughts, changing its codes in our body to adapt to the “environment” that we thereby create within and around us. We are also impacted by what others add to our “environment” with their thoughts and words. In other words, our words have the power to code our DNA.

Well — this conversation finally became too big for my brain and so I am writing it down and sharing it with you. This is another piece of our creation work that will net results more quickly as we move into the higher dimensions.

We’ve all heard the saying: “Be careful what you wish for, you may get it.” Never has this been more true. Now is the time of nearly instant manifestation of thoughts and words, so if something appears in front of you that is not to your liking, it’s time to track back a few thoughts and see “what you just ordered.” But I digress (slightly.)

The first two parts of my conversation came from ancient times and speak to the understanding that people had about the power of words and their ability to impact the surrounding environment. The third part of my conversation comes from modern scientific research. Our bodies are considered part of the environment, so consider the impact of the following statements on our physical forms:

“I’m just dying to do that!”

“I love her to death!”

I hate my nose (eyes, thighs . . .whatever.)

“I”m such an idot!”

Yes, BUT — those are just “sayings;” I was only kidding; I didn’t really mean it; It’s just an expression.

Perhaps —  EXCEPT that our DNA (and the Universe) does not differentiate between kidding and not kidding — everything that comes through our mind or out of our mouth is given equal consideration. The energy of our thoughts and words does not “die.” It continues on, omni-directionally, eternally, forever. That’s a lot of directions and too much time to keep track of.  “. . .and those who love it will eat its fruits.” Somewhere, sometime, in some reality or dimension, our thoughts and words will bear fruit, either bitter or sweet. And remember — it always comes back to us, its creator.

After pondering these ideas, I have some questions to ask.

How might we be creating and/or maintaining illnesses in our bodies with our thoughts and words?

What impact is watching the nightly news on TV having on my body? What about the commercials?

Is our defense of “Free Speech” supporting Freedom of Different Perspectives or are we unconsciously supporting Hate Speech and Violent Speech, thinking that there is no harm in just expressing words?

When we lash out with angry words at a loved one or a co-worker, what is happening in the cells of their bodies? In the cells of OUR bodies?

I feel that it’s time to look at language as a tool of sacredness. We have become so casual about what we say that most of the time, we don’t even realize that we are speaking words and ideas that we would not actually want to happen, were we to take them seriously, as our cells do.

The power of life and death is in the tongue. DNA is a language. Are our words (to ourselves or others) a curse or a blessing? Let’s consider this.

44 thoughts on “Sacred Language — The Power of Our Words

  1. Pingback: language is sacred, so beware of using it in vain/in vanity « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

  2. Pingback: Robert JR Graham » Creating The Good Life

  3. i really enjoyed reading your post Alia, especially because i was thinking about this subject few days ago! hah! “be careful what you wish for” – we should all have this sentence in our heads before thinking / speaking aloud…
    And how our thoughts / words influence reality?
    I personally like this experiment done by dr Masaru Emoto:

    thank you for such a wonderful journey into the “Pending – Land” of power of our words!
    much love to you ~~

    • Yes, the water crystals are exquisite.Each card in this deck is more beautiful than the one before — you can’t draw a poor one, unless it’s the one they put in the microwave.That one made me stop using that wicked technology — even to re-hear my coffee. Take care, Alia

  4. Beautiful post and reminder — indeed our words are our wands. Brings to mind the work of Dr. Masaru Emoto on words and water. Are you familiar with his work?

    • Yes we have Mr. Emoto’s cards and have pasted “Gratitude,” “Abundance” and “Love” onto our water pitcher. I love your phrase “Our words are our wands.” That is beautiful! We often remark that “If only I could wave a magic wand and . . .” without realizing that every word we speak IS a magic wand, creating our reality. Because of the buffer (lag time) in 3D most of us did not connect the words we spoke with the appearance of their manifestations. However, the “buffer” is going away (as is time) and we are beginning to see the results of our speaking and our thinking show up in our faces faster. I accept this as the self-correcting system that should help us “clean up” our speaking and thinking in a relatively short time. Thank you so much for your comments, Alia

  5. Love this post, Alia. Thank you for blessing us with this very wise words. I, too, have been focusing on right speech. I am trying to be aware of the words I use in posts and comments as well. Thank you for the reminder. I am so happy that Tomas pointed me in your direction. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    • Welcome Kozo — Thank you for your appreciation. Conscious speech seems to be a pertinent topic right now. I am delighted to see the interest that this post has drawn. We can all remind one another and make progress more quickly and with much more fun. I look forward to getting over to your site. Tomas has told me very positive things about the work you are doing. {{{Hugs Back}}} Alia

  6. This is a great post, thank you for sharing. I love it when science discovers more and more ‘spiritual’ or what used to be called ‘fluffy’ connections with unquantifiable things… I think ancient/’uncivilised’ peoples have a lot more knowledge than we in the modern west do, we’re just discovering things they have always known, but from a scientific P.o.V.
    I often ‘search’ for the right words, phrases, sentences when I speak, I have to find what ‘feels’ right to say… and now I know why!
    Blessings be

    • Hello Heidi — Thank you for bringing out this point about the convergence of science and spirituality. In the old,old,old days they used to be one. Now they are coming back to one. I honor you for choosing the words that “feel” right. So many times, I don’t feel for the right word, attempting a quick answer. I would do better to search, as you say, for the word that feels right. Thank you for that insight, Alia

  7. Namaste Alia,
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Human languages are truly primitive indeed but it did serve the purpose back in 3D soul lessons.

    So is Planet Earth’s educational system – it’s also primitive and left brained based. We are sure that as we are all progressing towards 5D, we are all more aware in ‘double checking’ the vocab we speak and micro-managing our ‘thoughts’ before speaking them.

    I’ve been ‘training’ myself for many years on how to send any ‘negative’ thoughts and words straight to the ‘recycle bin’ for transmutation and transformation and to consciously re-word my intentions before sending it out.

    It is more efficient that we ask our Higher Selves to guide and inspire us with our daily living when we are ‘thinking’ and communicating with other souls on Planet Earth. That way, we are constantly working and co-creating with our higher selves and it will be much easier than doing it on our own.
    Much love and Reiki blessings,
    Agnes

    • Thank you for your insights. I love the part about sending the negative thoughts straight to the recycle bin. Wonderful! Asking our Higher Selves to guide, inspire (and monitor) us is a very direct approach. They can’t intervene unless we ask. Why do I forget to ask? I am getting better at that and it’s great to see you promoting that option. It’s a HIGH one. Many blessings, Alia

  8. Dear Alia,
    I am so glad that you wrote on this. I have been aware of my language for some time and the power it has. I did not think how it affects our dna but that makes perfect sense! Thank you for bringing us one step closer to our truth as we unwind the old unconscious programming that was used to enslave us all. Thank you.

    • Dear Linda – how lovely to hear from you. Frankly I was astounded when I first learned about the connection with our DNA and language. But it made perfect sense to me too. I’m so happy that the message of this post is striking such a chord with readers. As we, the Wayshowers, put more consciousness into our speaking, we will open the way for more conscious awareness to enter all speaking throughout Humanity. Thank you for reflecting to me that we are truly taking the practical steps *together *that are bringing forth our New Reality. That is my intention for this blog at this time. It’s happening and I thank you and everyone who is reading and pondering these posts for being an agent of change right NOW. Blessings, Alia

      On Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 6:27 AM, 13th Paradigm

  9. A very powerful post Alia, it brings to mind something my mum said to me before she died. You quoted the saying be careful what …. my mum said I always wanted to be slim and now I am, I am dying of cancer {{{Chills}}} Our words are powerful and what we say or do to another we do to ourselves.

    • Thank you Athena — Many times I have received my “wish” from the Universe in surprising (and sometimes unpleasant) ways. Our increasing awareness of our unity as ONE Humanity will assist us greatly in cleaning up our thoughts and deeds. Telepathy will also be a great assist. Thanks for your comments. With love, Alia

      On Mon, Feb 4, 2013 at 8:02 PM, 13th Paradigm

  10. Thank you Alia! i am really looking more deeply into my own language lately as I have had some challenges with people close to me…I am noticing when I think angry thoughts and switching to loving thoughts instead. Even if things aren’t said out loud they have an energy that others can feel!! much love to you, sure hope Poof is right!!! hugs. Faith

    • Yes because the words we speak create our reality – words matter, which means when we speak our word, it materializes…all the more reason to be conscious, aware and positive in what we communicate in spoken and written word!

    • Wonderful Faith that you are catching yourself in the act and able to switch channels. That’s a very powerful ability – a form of mastery that we will achieve as a Collective when all of us begin to feel ourselves as ONE. Blessings — I hope Poof is right too! Alia

    • Hi Kathryn — if you are asking me, Alia, if you can use my words, yes you may. Appreciate the credit and to know when your radio show is? If you are asking Sheila, I would have to ask her. I just took a look at your site and will take a longer look soon. Thanks for visiting, Alia

      • HI Alia, I just found this replay – thank you! I am thinking about using some of your words. I am playing with the time for my radio show. So far, daily at 11am is working for me, I am feeling my way through it as it is a new adventure.

        • Thank you Kathryn — Please leave the link to your radio show in these comments, along with the time and which time zone you broadcast in. I think some of our readers would like to join you — I know I would. Blessings on this new adventure of yours, Alia

  11. This is a piece to my puzzle. It came with perfect timing. DNA is our language.
    Our bodies are like the Earth,soil,water etc.
    They respond positively to the language of Love and Light. I knew this! I appreciate you bringing it back to my consciousness.
    Much Love
    Beverly

  12. Werner Erhard taught that language created our reality and that we could use language to recreate our world, so I like seeing your thoughts regarding this subject. Werner used the power of acknowledgment to call into existence and empower each other. Acknowledgment speaks to who someone is being and it pulls that distinction out of the morass of our everyday conversations and lives and shines a new light on an aspect of ourselves that we can’t see. One of the greatest gifts we can give each other through language is acknowledgment. Alia, I acknowledge you for having the courage and commitment to stand yourself in a higher realm of being that calls forth your natural genius of teacher and guide. As Maharaji says, “Guru, one who leads us from darkness to light. Gu meaning darkness and ru meaning light.” I think you would say that you are a Light worker.Thank you for shining more light on how we use language. It is so important in these dark times. Much love.

    • Thank you very much for bringing your understanding of this important piece of Werner’s work into this discussion. Acknowledgement/Appreciation is foundational to our expansion into our greater Selves. Thank for acknowledging my commitment to the higher path and my courage to come forth as teacher and wayshower. I also appreciate your definition of “Gu-ru.” I had not heard that before, although I am familiar with many words from Indian sacred language. Blessings to you on your path, Alia

      • Dear Anonymous,
        I want to thank you for highlighting the power of acknowledgment. I am often told that is my gift, holding the immaculate concept for another and acknowledging aspects that are shining through at the moment. It is a powerful practice. Isn’t it fun to think by being aware of our language and how we use it with one another, we can co-create our new world! That thought has me dancing this morning. Blessings to you, Linda

  13. Good morning….this is a very deep and complex subject you are bringing to light…it could almost be a complete blog….:) I know I have started watching my conversations/words and intend to keep them closer to the 5D realm than the 3D….a very popular saying is “to die for” and I have switched it to “to live for” and I am in the habit of saying I am perfect when someone asks me how I am….small changes, but then that is what we are doing….one baby step at a time and loving it…..:) thanks for a mind broadening post….have fun, Spiritdancing

    • Yes indeed, this is a much larger conversation; I have only initiated it. Becoming aware of the popular idiomatic phrases and questioning them, as you are doing, is a great first step. Our awareness is always powerful; sometimes, awareness is all that is necessary to shift a situation. Our language, however, has permeated our cells and takes more persistent attention to shift. I have been using some of the phrases in my life since childhood, passed down by well-meaning relatives and friends of family through generations, without question. Thank you for the work you are doing in your own life to shine light in this area. The more we base our lives in unconditional love, the more quickly our speaking will reflect the blessings that words can bestow. Much love to you, Alia

      On Mon, Feb 4, 2013 at 8:56 AM, 13th Paradigm

  14. Alia, What a POST!  I’m speechless at the moment, but I’ve been thinking some of the same thoughts and questions.  My love and admiration………..you speak so clearly.

    • Thank you Sheila — Yes, this theme seems to be floating about in the Universal Mind, ready to be addressed. It is part of our “graduation” process of becoming fully conscious BEings. I appreciate your comments. Blessings, Alia

      On Mon, Feb 4, 2013 at 7:40 AM, 13th Paradigm

Leave a Reply

