Disappointment, Discouragement, Disheartenment: The Downside of Expectations

Fairy with WandMost of my life I have been accused of being a “Magical Thinker.” Not only accused but ridiculed, judged and invalidated. In my nearly 65 years on the planet (this time) I have never given up this character “flaw” nor do I intend to. I see no reason why something really positive that could benefit all mankind cannot happen instantly, or at least overnight. Miracles, it is said, occur outside the dimension of  time.  My husband tells me that my magical thinking is an “endearing quality” and this is one small reason that he has my eternal love. He sees what everyone else before him has seen — and he sees through that to the place from which this trait springs within me, my ardent heart’s desire that every being on this sweet Earth be forever freed from struggle and a daily life of survival.

I have also been blessed with another trait known as Eternal Optimism. I have a feeling that my pre-birth contract agreement went something like this: “Well, I’ll agree to a lifetime of poverty but I insist on carrying within me an abundance of Magical Thinking and Eternal Optimism.” My guides rolled their eyes and said OK.

Skip ahead nearly six and a half decades to the morning of Saturday January 19, 2013. I woke up feeling “Disappointed, Discouraged and Disheartened.” Not the first time, but the first time in a long time that I had felt these emotions as strongly as I did that day. What happened?

I had been hit by the downside of an expectation that I had begun building in my mind on January 16th as a result of following various messages and blogs regarding spectacular events that MIGHT occur on Inauguration Day, January 21, 2013. Several messages were speculating that the fabled “Announcements” might be made on all mainstream media channels, finally breaking many illusions that have been purported for decades through these venues. There were other beneficial aspects of this as well, including worldwide debt forgiveness, prosperity packages, the release of long-suppressed technologies and a return to our Constitutional form of government. Rumor had it that Obama might not even be the one to take the oath of office on this day!

The more I considered what I was reading, the more I bought in. The day seemed perfect: TV slots all reserved, millions of viewers geared to watch the festivities, a three day (banking) holiday — and (in my mind at least) IT WAS JUST PLAIN TIME FOR THIS TO HAPPEN. I was euphoric for three days.

Then other messages began to appear that made me doubt it all and by Saturday evening, I was so down energetically, that even when reading inspiring messages, my mind was taking it all the wrong way, twisting them around and pushing me further into discouragement. I took to bed and fell asleep asking my guides and angels to help me return to center.

Sunday morning I re-read the messages of the night before and found them very useful. I especially resonated with Suzanne Lie’s latest message from the Arcturians, which advised us to “merge with our higher expressions of SELF.” I took this to heart, and later that morning, while walking on the beach, I asked this “higher SELF” what was the most important thing for me to be doing at this point? (I am so eager to get started DOing something!) Immediately, I heard the response: “Learn to merge with your Higher SELF. This is important and it is ENOUGH.”

Somehow, hearing these words from within broke the spell of my Expectation/Disappointment cycle. From then on I was calm, centered and unconcerned about what might or might not happen on Inauguration Day — or any other day — or any other moment. I had been given my “Marching Orders” by my higher SELF and told to make that Priority One.

I also received this point of perspective. Today, January 21, 2013 is exactly one month into our new Galactic Cycle of 26,000 years. The percentage that this 30-day period represents of the whole defies computation with my calculators. It is infinitesimal! I began to think that perhaps I was indeed expecting too much too soon. Maybe “Radical Revolutionary Overnight Change” was not a literal expression but a more figurative one. Perhaps, when we look back in five years or 15 or even 50, the extraordinary changes that will have taken hold on our planet by then will SEEM as though they happened overnight, in the “twinkling of an eye.”

I began to laugh. I relaxed. My joy returned and I sent a prayer of gratefulness to my higher expression of SELF.

35 thoughts on “Disappointment, Discouragement, Disheartenment: The Downside of Expectations

  1. Slightly off track but with the same conclusion… having experienced soul-loss, I Journeyed to ‘recapture’ a piece of myself. A few days later, I felt I should be DOing something more to help my soul re-integrate. Meditating upon this, the answer came from outside… ‘what makes you think you need to DO anything? Just be – be yourself. It will all come’.
    Sometimes, BEing is enough 🙂
    Blessings be.

    • Thank you for sharing from your perspective. As the days move on, I find myself enjoying more and more the opportunities I take to just BE. Some are planned (intentional meditations) and some happen spontaneously as I allow myself to surrender into the present moment. Many different sources are confirming that at this point in our transition from 3D to 5D BEing IS the DOing that is most needed to assist with the raising of our Collective frequency. Many sages, including Eckhart Tolle remind us that any DOing should come forth from our BEing. Little by little my mind is letting go of its resistance to this and I am feeling more at peace with this approach. However we arrive at the point where that “inner voice” prompts us to lay down the frenzy of DOing and just BE — if we take up that suggestion — I believe we will make more of an impact in our world than we can ever imagine. Blessings on your path, Alia

      On Thu, Jan 24, 2013 at 1:27 AM, 13th Paradigm

    • Thank you, I still have the urges to DO something, even if there is no clear action for me to take. We are so conditioned to the DOing as the valuable part in this society.We have not been taught that the first activity of BEing is to be valued above all, as it is our WORTH. So many distortions and perversions in the patriarchy. With the return of the Divine Feminine, we will balance our and value both the BEing and the DOing. However, in my understanding, the truly right action must emerge from our BEingness. We are learning this as a Collective. What a blessed change is coming froth from this learning. Love to you, ALia

  2. I put off writing a comment/thought as I wasn’t sure what I needed/wanted to say….but as the days have gone by from the inauguration and I have received so many emails and read so many disappointments….I became aware of being so grateful of how sick I was, as my concentration has been on getting well and the only time/strength I had left to devote to the “event” was to send love and light. And….my reminder to myself is…I am free….and that can’t be taken away from me and I think/feel it thru my whole body until It vibrates and I feel joy….and all of these external guide posts disappear….

    Alia, I love the way you can articulate what you are thinking and feeling, it is a true gift, and magical thinking is the best!!!!

    Much love and more
    Spiritdancing

    • Thank you for staying with yourself through your illness and not getting pulled into the dramas that are everywhere running amok. Thank you also for your appreciations of my writing. When I began my blog last summer, I never expected it to be such a pleasure. And so many extraordinary people that I am meeting. What a bonus! Hope you are much better by now, Alia

      On Wed, Jan 23, 2013 at 8:44 AM, 13th Paradigm

  3. Beautiful post, Alia! The brilliant light of your soul shines through every word, and you are like the Ever-ready Bunny of optimism! Keep on hoppin, for it offers the rest of us much hope, and it’s so good for YOU! Happy Anniversary to you and your beloved Tomas! xoxoxo
    Susannah

  4. My son shared with me a fascinating side story regarding the inauguration. This young man, Lupe Fiasco, is a hip-hop artist. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22l1sf5JZD0
    He performed this same song over and over again for 30 minutes before he was physically hauled off-stage. The lyrics to this song speak of the injustices rampant within the U.S. corporation masquerading as government. It is no accident that this young man was invited and then “allowed” to repeatedly perform this song over and over. There is a hidden message here to the populace, in my opinion: there IS awareness of the problem and perhaps even the solution and this was a veiled attempt to covertly convey this piece of information. It gave me great hope that the white hats that are dismantling the old guard let the message be leaked out in this highly relevant manner for many young people who are acutely aware of the inequities and may have watched the inauguration broadcast solely to see a hip-hop artist they recognize…a fascinating look from another angle.

    • Very interesting. There are some pretty graphic images of oppression by authority in this video. Disclosure is trickling out in many ways. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, Alia

      On Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 9:23 AM, 13th Paradigm

  5. Hi Alia
    your gentle kindness comes from within, like a beautiful flower that grows in a waste land. The delusion in our minds of what we perceive to be real, what we believe in causes that disappointment discouragement expectation. Because it is all from the Ego and it produces suffering. It makes enemy’s if it is challenged love is lost in judgement of dark T shirts. Know by that your beliefs have led you to anger.
    Faith is real it moves mountains, when one has it one is never disappointed.
    Put your faith in no one.
    If you want to find yourself go within the rest is just a parade to distract you from doing just that. There is nothing inside, so it can not be broken it does not need a belief it is empty like the space that holds the Sun in place. Witness the power of it’s silence…….. or join the jamboree.

  6. If you are not connected with your higher self yet you still have your gut instinct and formost your heart telling you always your truth. There are a few teachers who are supercondactors for bringing
    a multidimensional reality to earth so that you can shift easier. Namaste

    • Thank you Antje – good to hear from you again. The place within is the way through. We have been enticed with all the distractions. Time to “skip lunch” and feast on the Silence. Blessings, Alia

      On Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 1:20 AM, 13th Paradigm

  7. Thanks dear ALia, for your honest, candid sharing! I so appreciate it. I had very similar feelings after the Solstice and our big Birth 2012 event. I just felt so disappointed and discouraged afterwards. But it was you, dear one, who helped me through and out of that with the beautiful post about the change that happens when we go from night (11:59pm) to day (12:00) am. In that second we change from night to day, but there is absolutely no evidence that we have moved into a new day. It actually takes hours before there is any evidence of the new day and a sunrise. I have just loved this great analogy! It has given me the reassurance and hope that I needed. (I’ve used this analogy many times since Dec.22!) So, thank you for your loving assistance, support, love. It was just what I needed!!

    • Thank you Polli for reminding me of that great metaphor. I heard another one yesterday about the nine month gestation period of the fetus to grow in the womb. Implying that humanity and planet Earth are now in a gestation period of our new Galactic Year. May take more than nine months but I liked the concept. It will take as long as it takes. I am grateful that “we are here” (the world did not end) with soooooo many wonderful conscious partners on the ground to co-create in this new energy pool. Thanks for being one of them, Alia

      On Mon, Jan 21, 2013 at 8:56 PM, 13th Paradigm

    • Thank you for your kind words. I think it is easier now that we have shifted. The energies are supporting us in the upward direction. Blessings, Alia

      On Mon, Jan 21, 2013 at 7:06 PM, 13th Paradigm

  8. I also reflect on the build-up of “expectations” in the consumer culture. Starting with Santa Claus we are programmed to live in expectation of something wonderful happening “tomorrow”. You can follow this into many areas: this job isn’t so good, but if you’re patient and obedient you can expect a better one “some day”. Keeping us focused on a better tomorrow has robbed our power to Be in the Now, where all power resides. Just some thoughts on “brain-washing”.

    • Yes, it’s true. The Dark T-shirts have used this strategy of raising expectations and then plunging people into the abyss to reap the negative emotional harvest for eons. Well, they may have gotten a couple of points on the board Saturday night but they by no means won the match or even the round. Thanks for bringing this up, Tomas — another illusion busted! Blessings, Alia

  9. Bless you, Alia. This is where I’ve been as well. I loved Obama’s speech and the Poet Laurette’s poem And, all is well!

    • Thank you Sheila — I also loved Obama’s speech and the whole blessed pageant. I’ve never heard so many unique musical arrangements in all my life. Glad the post was helpful. As you may have guessed, I had to stare a couple of demons in the face before I could write it. Blessings, Alia

      On Mon, Jan 21, 2013 at 6:23 PM, 13th Paradigm

Leave a Reply

